Staff

The New Beginnings' staff is a committed, well-trained group of women and men, diverse in ages, ethnicity, cultural and religious backgrounds, and education. A third are people of color, and nearly forty percent are survivors of domestic violence.

 

 

Susan Segall, Executive Director

Susan has over 25 years of leadership, management and program experience in non-profits focused on peace and social justice. For more than 13 years, Susan served as Regional Director of the American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) in the Pacific Northwest, providing leadership on issues of peace, immigrant rights, LBGT rights, Native American rights, criminal justice, and youth leadership development. Before relocating to Seattle in 1999, Susan lived in Philadelphia, where she served as Interim Director of AFSC's national Peace Education Division, coordinated emergency room and hotline services at Women Organized Against Rape, and provided sexuality education training to professionals at Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania. Susan has served on boards of the Greater Philadelphia Women's Medical Fund, the Church Council of Greater Seattle, and on the Racial Equity Advisory Committee of the Defender Association's Racial Disparity Project.  

 

Community Advocacy Program
Danielle Desrosiers, Program Manager ddesrosiers@newbegin.org
 
Home Safe Program
Ginny Ware, Program Manager gware@newbegin.org
 
Helpline
206-522-9472
 
Administration
Donnetta Vessell, Administrative Director
Emmalee Ashland,Technology Specialist
Denise Haugen, Finance Manager
Lauren Smith, Data Coordinator
 
Development
Rachelle Nesta, Development Director rnesta@newbegin.org
Erin Cox, Major Gifts Officer ecox@newbegin.org
Kerry Dirk, Annual Fund Coordinator kdirk@newbegin.org
Megan Clingman, Special Events Coordinator mclingman@newbegin.org
Sarah Lewis Assink, Community Engagement Coordinator slewisassink@newbegin.org